Winter’s on Its Way, Pt 2

17 Oct

I feel like in my previous post I neglected to mention that the impending cold weather has also meant a beautiful autumn.

Last year I totally missed out on fall, save for two weekends I was in France/Germany/Italy, since it doesn’t exist in southern Spain. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved the fact that I was still going to the beach at the end of October, but it was strange to miss the changing colors, cool weather, and smokey scents of the season.

I’m definitely getting my fill of fall in KV this year. The city is surrounded by hills of orange, yellow, and red leaves. The town I teach in on Wednesdays and Thursdays, Ostrov, is also in a little valley and it’s full of gorgeous colors.

Today my roommate Jessica and I went on a hike/run on some of the hiking paths in the hills around KV. There are tons of paths through the forest leading every which way so we wandered around exploring new territory. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking. Luckily I had brought my camera so I got a few good pictures (like the one at the top, I’ll add them all to the photo page) but I was trying not to stop too much since we were trying to get a workout in.

The only way fall could get better here was if they had pumpkin beer. They do beer really well, but the microbrew niche is only starting to take hold. Last weekend in Prague we tried a few different Czech beers (meaning not Pilsner, Budvar, or Staropramen) at a beer shop, all of which were tasty, but none were pumpkin flavored.

So although I was a bit dramatic about the incoming cold weather in my last post (I spent last year in southern Spain, can you blame me?) I am enjoying the fall season. Although there is a chance of snow for this Thursday and Friday. Not kidding! (Click on the link if you don’t believe me.)

Leave a Reply

