Three Years and Counting…

20 Nov

Ally and me - Prague 2010

Two weeks ago (the first weekend of November) my cousin Alyson was in Prague for work. She and her husband Alex live in Zurich, Switzerland. (I did visit them in Zurich on my very last weekend of living in Spain last year but never blogged about it – oops!)

I went into Prague Saturday afternoon to meet up with them and hang out for the weekend. It turned out that Ally had to work all day Saturday so Alex and I explored a little on our own in the rainy weather. For dinner we had delicious sushi, which I hadn’t eaten since the summer in the US.

On Sunday we had all day to hang out in Prague, but unfortunately it was another rainy and gross day. We started the day off with a delicious breakfast from a cafe called “Bake Shop.” Full disclosure: we ended up going there three times between Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon. It was close to our hotel and the hot chocolate and lattes were just so big and tasty, it seemed silly to not go there. We walked around the city center for a bit and went into a lot of shops to get out of the rain.

During our visit we realized that this was the third year in a row that we had spent the first weekend of November together. This might seem inconsequential until you factor in that Ally and Alex lived in Germany from September 2008 until March 2010, and now live in Zurich. And I was in Spain last year. So it’s not like we were just a few hours away on interstate 95 like used to be the case.

Ally and me - Athens 2008, in front of the parliament building

Two years ago I went to Europe to visit Ally and Alex in their new digs in Germany and to travel around Europe a little bit. We actually met up briefly in London first because they were visiting Amy, Ally’s friend from childhood, and I was meeting up with my roommates Ryan and Matt who were traveling in Europe at the same time as me. Then we spent the first weekend of November together in Athens, Greece because Ally had a conference for work (the same conference that brought her to Prague this year).

Then last year our parents all traveled to Europe together to tour around Germany, France, and Switzerland. We spent one weekend together in France where Alex’s family has a house. Then for the first weekend in November I met them all in Lake Como, Italy. We had a really nice time in Bellagio, a small town on the lake.

Ally and me - Lake Como 2009

That brings us up to this year in Prague, which I already detailed for you above. I feel really lucky to have my cousin and friend so close while we’re both living abroad.  It’s great to see her (and Alex!) on a regular basis, and they are always so sweet and let me crash in their hotel rooms 🙂 Ally told me that next year the work conference will be in Lisbon so we’ll have to see if we can make it four in a row…

Leave a Reply

