Brat and Buda

25 Aug

In April around Easter, during what is Semana Santa in Spain, two of my friends Suzanne and Julie were visiting. I had a rare long weekend off and was determined to make the most of it. So we took off for a day in Prague, a day in Bratislava, Slovakia, and  two days in Budapest, Hungary. It was awesome! One of the more interesting trips I’ve taken and very chill (somehow it was relaxing even though we were moving around every day or so). I won’t write too much, mostly just share some pics. I will say though that Bratislava really impressed me. I didn’t have many expectations for the small city, especially compared to Budapest, which I had heard several good things about. But when we arrived we found a very charming city with an enchanting old town area and a lively and classy new area along the Danube. I wish we had had more time there, but I’m glad I at least got to see it.

me and Julie on the Charles Bridge

Suz and I while walking up to the Prague Castle

in front of the Bratislava Opera House

DELICIOUS Slovakian dumplings (similar to perogis)

old and new bridges over the Danube in Bratislava

fancy cocktails along the Danube at an outdoor cafe

Budapest, parliament building behind us

in front of the Budapest Opera House

Like I said above, it was an awesome trip. We saw some cool new places, lounged in the famous baths in Budapest, and sampled some tasty, tasty Slovakian and Hungarian food. And most importantly I had the chance to make new memories with old friends.

la la

Leave a Reply

